Mayer Hawthorne – “No Strings” (Prod. Classixx)
September 16
under: Songs
comments: 0

Dope, this is exactly the type of song I have been waiting on from Mayer. Instead of falling back into his comfort zone in the old school R&B sounds he expands his inspirations and fast forwards to the 80′s on “No Strings” and still kills it. The funky, prominent bassline, synths and whatever that loop is in the background (xylophone maybe?) all give it a classic feel while Mayer croons about wanting a no strings attached relationship (because he is a normal dude lol). Mayer teamed up with Mazda for this track to further prove that corporate sponsorship is a viable option to supplement lagging album sales. Check below the break for the download and his upcoming tour dates which include DC, Toronto and NYC (which is what we call the B&B trifecta over here for all our writer’s current locations) all in October.

Tour Dates:
3 Oct, Sun: Ft. Lauderdale FL at Culture Room
4 Oct, Mon: Orlando FL at The Social
6 Oct, Wed: San Antonio TX at Kurova
7 Oct, Thu: Dallas TX at The Loft
8 Oct, Fri: Austin TX at Antones
11 Oct, Mon: Memphis TN at Hi Tone
12 Oct, Tue: St. Louis MO at Firebird at
13 Oct, Wed: Grand Rapids MI at Intersection
15 Oct, Fri: Toronto ONT at Opera House
16 Oct, Sat: Philadelphia PA at Theatre of Living Arts
17 Oct, Sun: New York NY at Webster Hall
18 Oct, Mon: Brooklyn NY at Music Hall of Williamsburg
19 Oct, Tue: Boston MA at Paradise
21 Oct, Thu: Washington DC at Black Cat
22 Oct, Fri: Atlanta GA at The Masquerade
23 Oct, Sat: Birmingham AL at Bottletree
24 Oct, Sun: Nashville TN at Mercy Lounge
25 Oct, Mon: Asheville NC at Orange Peel
27 Oct, Wed: Chicago IL at Park West
28 Oct, Thu: Columbus OH at Basement
29 Oct, Fri: Cleveland OH at Grog Shop
30 Oct, Sat: Madison WI at Rathskeller Hall at UW
1 Nov, Mon: Indianapolis IN at Vogue
2 Nov, Tue: Minneapolis MN at Varsity
3 Nov, Wed: Lawrence KS at Bottleneck
4 Nov, Thu: Boulder CO at Fox Theatre
5 Nov, Fri: Salt Lake City UT at Urban Lounge
7 Nov, Sun: Seattle WA at Neumos
8 Nov, Mon: Vancouver BC at Blitmore Cabaret
9 Nov, Tue: Portland OR at Aladdin Theatre
11 Nov, Thu: San Francisco CA at Bimbo’s
12 Nov, Fri: Los Angeles CA at Music Box (Henry Fonda Theatre)

Download: Mayer Hawthorne – “No Strings”

Be Sociable, Share!







<